Barron Named to All-CCC Baseball Second Team

Barron Named to All-CCC Baseball Second Team

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. - Student-athletes from eight different institutions in the Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC) were represented on the 2013 All-CCC Baseball Team, it was announced today by Commissioner Gregg M. Kaye. In addition to the all-conference team, winners of five major individual awards and the team sportsmanship award were also selected.

Curry College senior outfielder Sam Barron (Hadley, Mass.) was named to the All-CCC Second Team.

Western New England senior Mike Rubino was selected CCC Player of the Year, Endicott senior Tyler Hitchcock was named CCC Pitcher of the Year, Salve Regina freshman Ryan Kelly was chosen CCC Rookie of the Year, Endicott’s Colin Sitarz was honored as CCC Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year, Endicott’s Bryan Haley was selected as CCC Coach of the Year and Roger Williams University was the recipient of the Team Sportsmanship Award.

Voting for the All-CCC team and each of the major awards was conducted among CCC baseball coaches.

Joining Hitchcock (pitcher), Kelly (outfielder), and Rubino (third baseman) on the first team were catcher Dominic Di Sano (Salve Regina), first baseman Brett Holmgren (Endicott), second baseman Harry Oringer (Endicott), shortstop Brian Harrington (Gordon), outfielders Conor Ressel (Endicott) and Jeff Schult (Western New England), designated hitter Tyler Colby (Salve Regina), and pitchers Mike Lospinuso (Western New England) and Kyle Pheland (Salve Regina).
Sitarz was selected to the second team as an outfielder.  Accompanying him on the second team were catcher EJ Martinez (Endicott), first baseman Steve Ambrosino (Western New England), second baseman Joe Hulme (Wentworth), third baseman Joe Haley (Salve Regina), shortstop John Oppenhimer (Roger Williams), outfielders Barron and Ryan Sweenor (Salve Regina), designated hitter Steve Buckley (Western New England), and pitchers Trevor Breton (Western New England), Brendan Nugent (Western New England), and Tyler Pogmore (Roger Williams).
Honorable mention selections were catchers Jake Mailman (Wentworth) and David Manning (Eastern Nazarene), first basemen Reid Nelson (Roger Wiliams) and Alex Potocki (Gordon), second basemen Ryan Garza (Eastern Nazarene) and Eric Walker (Gordon), third basemen Matthew Paola (Endicott) and Anthony Berroa (Eastern Nazarene), shortstops Kyle McKelvey (Western New England) and Jon Spitz (Wentworth), outfielders Matt Anthonis (Western New England), Dillon Coleman (Gordon), Tad Gold (Endicott), Matt Jefferis (Roger Williams), Mike Pascarella (Roger Williams), and Eric Rinaldi (Gordon), designated hitters Ryan Delgado (Wentworth) and Eric Lemke (Endicott), and pitchers Mike Nich (Endicott), Sean Boyle (Roger Williams), Brian Harrington (Gordon), Kevin Dupras (Endicott), and Ben Lewis (Wentworth).



C - Dominic Di Sano, Salve Regina, Junior
1B - Brett Holmgren, Endicott, Senior
2B - Harry Oringer, Endicott, Sophomore
3B - Mike Rubino, Western New England, Senior
SS - Brian Harrington, Gordon, Senior
OF - Ryan Kelly, Salve Regina, Freshman
OF - Conor Ressel, Endicott, Junior
OF - Jeff Schult, Western New England, Junior
DH - Tyler Colby, Salve Regina, Junior
P - Tyler Hitchcock, Endicott, Senior
P - Mike Lospinuso, Western New England, Senior
P - Kyle Pheland, Salve Regina, Sophomore


C - EJ Martinez, Endicott, Junior
1B - Steve Ambrosino, Western New England, Junior
2B - Joe Hulme, Wentworth, Sophomore
3B - Joe Haley, Salve Regina, Sophomore
SS - John Oppenhimer, Roger Williams, Senior
OF - Sam Barron, Curry, Senior
OF - Colin Sitarz, Endicott, Graduate
OF - Ryan Sweenor, Salve Regina, Freshman
DH - Steve Buckley, Western New England, Sophomore
P - Trevor Breton, Western New England, Sophomore
P - Brendan Nugent, Western New England, Junior
P - Tyler Pogmore, Roger Williams, Junior


C - Jake Mailman, Wentworth, Sophomore
C - David Manning, Eastern Nazarene, Junior
1B - Reid Nelson, Roger Williams, Sophomore
1B - Alex Potocki, Gordon, Freshman
2B - Ryan Garza, Eastern Nazarene, Sophomore
2B - Eric Walker, Gordon, Freshman
3B - Matthew Paola, Endicott, Freshman
3B - Anthony Berroa, Eastern Nazarene, Junior
SS - Kyle McKelvey, Western New England, Senior
SS - Jon Spitz, Wentworth, Junior
OF - Matt Anthonis, Western New England, Senior
OF - Dillon Coleman, Gordon, Senior
OF - Tad Gold, Endicott, Junior
OF -Matt Jefferis, Roger Williams, Sophomore
OF - Mike Pascarella, Roger Williams, Junior
OF - Eric Rinaldi, Gordon, Freshman
DH - Ryan Delgado, Wentworth, Senior
DH - Eric Lemke, Endicott, Senior
P - Mike Nich, Endicott, Graduate
P - Sean Boyle, Roger Williams, Junior
P - Brian Harrington, Gordon, Senior
P - Kevin Dupras, Endicott, Senior
P - Ben Lewis, Wentworth, Junior


PLAYER OF THE YEAR - Mike Rubino, Western New England
PITCHER OF THE YEAR - Tyler Hitchcock, Endicott
ROOKIE OF THE YEAR - Ryan Kelly, Salve Regina
COACH OF THE YEAR - Bryan Haley, Endicott
TEAM SPORTSMANSHIP AWARD - Roger Williams University